078: Big changes need more God

So my life has taken a big turn. There’s been tons of change. The number one biggest thing is that I am now the Interim Director at CFL Wesley. It’s exciting and new, something I would have never imagined doing, but I am glad the Lord has given me this opportunity. I feel like the Lord has me here for a reason, preparing me for something, giving me this chance to grow as a leader.

I’ve been trying to read more stuff. I’m not much of a reader. I grow tired of reading. Nevertheless, I was reading Psalm 69 today, and I found it to have some encouraging things.

First off, Jesus was so dedicated to the Lord. He was so zealous for the Lord, for the Lord’s house even. It says that, “for zeal for your house consumes me, and the insults of those who insult you fall on me.” Jesus had such a passion even for God’s house. The house of God is not actual the person of God. It’s like me being overwhelmed with passion for my house. I’m not. If I was, I would probably be adding more beauty to it. But Jesus is consumed with zeal for His Father’s house. He knows that His Father’s presence dwells there. And what is cool about this is that the Lord’s Spirit dwells in us, in our hearts. Huh? If Jesus is zealous for the place that God’s spirit dwells, then zeal for our hearts (where the Holy Spirit dwells) consumes Him. What an awesome picture! He is zealous for our hearts. He longs to see our hearts made right. The corrupt things of our inner-man made new and clean. Thank you, Lord.

So, I also am working on a hymn based on Psalm 69. Here’s what I got:

I am broken and in need
Where can I find my peace?
The Lord is my salvation
A rock that is high, all my fears will cease

Jesus, your name be praised
My God, I magnify your hand of love
With thanks and melody
You will not despise my song

The Broken hear your praise and smile
Those who long for you shall breathe your life
For your mercy, it is great
And you restore the captive dwelling in great strife

Leave a Reply

