076: Purity, Faithfulness, and the Word

I have been trying to memorize the book of Psalms this year.  Let’s just say I am off to a slow start.  With 150 Psalms total and 2 memorized, I have got my work cut out for me, seeing that it’s already the second week of February.  Memorizing a Psalm provided to be a bit harder than I had expected.  I was hoping to fly through three Psalms a week.  No chance for that to succeed.  Life just got so busy so fast.  And as it gets busier, the Psalms, or even the Scripture, become more important for life.  I like how Psalm 1 says “Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly…but his delight is in the Law of the Lord, and in His Law he meditates day and night.”  It is the Law that is important to the blessed man, not all the other distractions of life: money, houses, pleasure, fun, adventure.  Not that life’s earthly joys are bad.  But if I were to delight in the Word of God, I would “not wither,” but would “bear fruit in…season.”  It’s simple to read the Bible.  I know that to be very true for my life.  But how can I delight in something. It’s not easy to delight in something that points out my faults, that calls me to be humble instead of powerful, that challenges who I am.  Yet, that very thing has also given me hope, peace, and love.  It’s hard to hold on to those times when Scripture has given me something great to delight in, because life has so many hurdles and obstacles to maneuver.  I guess what I am getting is I want to delight in the Word of God, but I don’t know how.  I can see how Scripture points to a joyful life for those who delight in the Word.  (Look at Ps. 1, 119.)

Leave a Reply

